Link Round-Up | Reading

28117797980_3204e316cb_z

(the Peony Garden at Nichols Arboretum this spring)

I recently did a thing on Twitter: I purged a lot of the accounts I was following. Once that was done, I went through and looked at who people I admired or people who shared great reads followed, and followed those people.

It has been so refreshing to have basically a brand-new Twitter feed, which has also resulted in saving a million links to share here.

(I’ll limit myself to five) (maybe six).

New Reads

Ghostbusters and 17th Century Nuns. What does it mean for women to fight possession, instead of being possessed? (Also, The Establishment has been killing it lately).

NPR’s Read, Watch, Binge series. The second installment recommends movies based on books you like. BRB adding them all to my to-watch.

Female solitude as rebellion. “Women are the anchors of social labor, the glue pulling the family, and then the community, together with small talk and good manners and social niceties. Living alone as a woman is not just a luxury but a refusal to bend into the shape of patriarchal assumption and expectation.” AKA an apartment of one’s own.

LaCroix has a fascinating history. The midwestern moms were right.

Joan Didion as pool reading.  I haven’t actually read Joan Didion, but this convinced me I need to change that ASAP.

Throwbacks

Dr. Martin Luther King on Vietnam. I am just now starting to read Dr. King’s speeches and essays,  having mostly just heard the sanitized version of his life in school. His work is so much more radical and political than I ever knew, and truly spellbinding.

Sleeping trees. “For the first time, trees have been shown to undergo physical changes at night that can be likened to sleep, or at least to day-night cycles that have been observed experimentally in smaller plants.” Trees have circadian rhythms, too.

Leave a comment