Fall Reading and Watching

In case you didn’t notice, it’s fall y’all.

tumblr_lkfbbrfRbp1qdlf46

Every fall, I find myself (like many people) drawn toward creepy and supernatural books. I also have a slew of must-watch fall movies and TV shows, so I’ve narrowed it down here to just a few.

Last year, I read Dracula and Frankenstein in October, but I think this year I’m going for newer fare.

The Clockwork Scarab (Stoker and Holmes #1)
I’m about halfway through this one, so expect a review soon. This is the first book in a new steampunk series that follows Evaline Stoker (vampire hunter) and Mina Holmes (consulting detective). They are set up by Irene Adler to investigate the mysterious deaths of several society ladies. Victorian England, steampunk, mystery, and supernatural makes for the perfect October book.

images

The Sandman: Preludes and Nocturnes
I recently picked up the first volume of Neil Gaiman’s comic series The Sandman. While I obviously won’t be able to finish the whole series this month, the first volume seemed appropriate for October. The series is a fantasy series about Morpheus, King of Dreams, and his family the Endless. I’m really excited to start this series.

Gilmore Girls
Like the rest of the internet, I couldn’t contain my excitement about GG being added to Netflix. Since then, I’ve rewatched more episodes than I’d like to admit. Gilmore Girls is always the perfect fall show: Stars Hollow seems to be eternal fall, always covered in leaves and vaguely sepia-toned. Add in the lovable, quirky townfolks and the Gilmores themselves and you’ve got yourself an afternoon.

You’ve Got Mail
Does it get anymore fall than the scene set to The Cranberry’s dream? I didn’t think so. The whole first half of the movie is so fall-tastic. Every October I find myself craving this movie, and wishing for my own bouquet of sharpened pencils.

Honorable mention: It’s the Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown! and Halloweentown

One thought on “Fall Reading and Watching

  1. Pingback: The Clockwork Scarab (Stoker and Holmes #1) by Colleen Gleason | I Go Through Phases

Leave a comment